Who is Recommending You?

By Adedara Oduguwa PhD
‘…though very young, he (Adedara) has done a remarkable thing by writing this book and, therefore deserves to be encouraged.”_Amb. Olatokunbo Awolowo (Dosumu), the Executive Director, The Obafemi Awolowo Foundation.
According to Google Dictionary, recommendation is a suggestion or proposal as to the best course of action, especially one put forward by an authoritative body. It can also be referred to as the action of recommending something or someone.
After I finished publishing the book ‘Chief Obafemi Awolowo: The Political Moses ‘ in the United States of America. I got an invitation by the Obafemi Awolowo Foundation to visit their office whenever I am in Nigeria.
Prior to this period, I have no relationship whatsoever with the Director of the Foundation. I have only been relating to mama HID Awolowo through Correspondents and the help of my younger brother Adegbuyi.
The book was originally published on May 23, 2012 (I was 27 years and 43 days). I actually wrote the book between 2010 and 2011. It was the manuscript I took to England in October 2011. My brother Adegbuyi Dare Oduguwa and my Childhood friend Awoyode David Mayowa were the only two people who could talk about the process and effort I put into the work.
Coincidentally Chief Awolowo died May 9, 1987 (at 78 years) and the book was published May 23, 2012. I didn’t plan this.
I came back, met with the Obafemi Awolowo Foundation’s Director at their Gbagada office, Lagos State. She was so happy to receive the 27-year-old young Nigerian, who had done a remarkable thing of recording an event that happened long before he was born.
She then recommended, in the company of the then Attorney General of Lagos State that the book be Launched in Nigeria. I need to put this on record, the University of The West of England already Launched the book for me in the UK, where about 12k pounds was spent (by the school) to host my guests. I received an unconditional supports from my friends, great people like Ikhazuagbe Imodu Peter, Dipo Michelle Onaeko Hussein Bolt Doma, J Obianuju Ebo, Hido Gwani and several others. This was one of my best moments.
Unlike the UK luncheon, the Nigerian outing was a lot different and somewhat difficult. I spent a lot of money travelling from one state to the other to canvass support for my new book on the most Revered figure after Oduduwa. I met with one of my media mentors and brother uncle Ayodele Ezekiel Ozugbakun who said ‘Dara you need to see the core Awoist like Chief Ayo Adebanjo, Chief Laniun Ajayi (now Late) and baba Kekere ( Alhaji Lateef Jakande) if the book must be well received.’ His recommendations helped in the success of the outing and the popularity of the book to the Nigerian audience. Beyond this, uncle Ayo tried his best to secure Senator Tinubu’s support for the book, he succeeded.
In my journey to meeting the Yoruba elders, I journeyed to Ogbo Kingdom (traditional home of Chief Adebanjo). He received me with great enthusiast. He said:


“When you called and said you are Oduguwa, you would notice I didn’t ask any question further, I asked you to come here and see me. Do you know why? Your grandfather D.S.D Oduguwa was a great man to Ijebu people. He owns most of the lands in Remo, but sadly he died too pretty young. In those days, when any Ijebu man visits Lagos, his house in Lagos is the first point of call. He was what Dangote is to the North today. So you don’t need further explanation, you are known!”
I also met with Prof. T.O Ogunlesi (first Professor of Medicine in Nigeria and father of Adebayo Ogunlesi). He also said “The day Gbenga Daniel came here, I asked him many questions when he first came here. But when Sunday (Hon. Kalejaiye ) told me you are Oduguwa, I didn’t ask further. Because your grandfather paid part of my tuition. He was the richest man in those days from Remo. My own father was a Blacksmith. Whenever we go to Lagos, we stay with D.S.D Oduguwa. He owns most of the lands in Remo. If you decide to regain these lands, I would be of help.”


However, from the documents gathered, as at 43 (June 1939) when D.S.D Oduguwa died, he had transacted businesses in 27 countries. I thank Chief Adebanjo and Prof. Ogunlesi for telling me about this part of my history. Now, after the newcomer in me has travelled to the nooks and cranny of Yorubaland, a date was fixed. It was Amb. Olatokunbo Awolowo Dosumu that used her pedigree to get me almost all the Special Guest.

Like I have said in my previous post, I usually don’t mention my father’s name in anything I do. I used to put myself in his shoes (since he never knew his own father), yet he became a successful man.
The later attached humbled me when Dr Dosumu presented it to me to give to the current Odole of Odua Sir Kensington Adebutu. Apart from the fact that he was my father’s friend, this letter paved way for our friendship. That, whenever I paid him a visit after the Launch, he would ask me to sit beside him alongside The Alaperu of Iperu while other people would look and ask a question like ‘who is this boy?’

At 27, my eyes were opened to Nigeria, politics of the 50s,60s,70s and 80s and what it means to be an Omoluabi. Apart from my trainer (father), the people mentioned in this piece actually shaped my existence.It was from the Awoist I learnt ‘if you don’t monger-evil, there is nothing to fear; they all operate an open door system, you don’t need an appointment to see them, once you know their houses and you have a good mission, you will see any of the Awoists. That was how Chief Awolowo trained his disciples.


Also, I learnt that recommendation is key in all we do and become. Who is recommending you is as vital as the recommendation. I have enjoyed the dividends of hard work (and the legacy of my forebear), I have been recommended, and working very hard to be able to recommend others in the future.


Finally, It was at the instance of the launch I built my first house and start another business. Can anyone recommend you for good? Think! and don’t be an instrument of destruction to mankind.

Published by

ebiographer

EXCLUSIVE BIOGRAPHER is a privately owned Nigerian journalist team, located in Nigeria and in the United Kingdom, dedicated to offering rich and full service bouquet including writing people biography, launching them and distributing it to all the libraries in Nigeria and around the world. We also create the best record of events, documentaries, professional/academic reports, storytelling, poem writing, political economic analysis, and all other book publications. We were registered with Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) and our registration code is 065921 in 2011. We also record your memorable events: this include; covering the event, editing it, producing it and mass producing the recorded events for you and your guest. Since incorporation, EXCLUSIVE BIOGRAPHER has delivered significant value in the institution of celebrating and immortalizing people who over the years have distinguished themselves by imparting lives in Nigeria and Africa as a whole.

Leave a comment